No Thanks, I’ll Just Starve

In a recent conversation, a friend and I were discussing things we won’t eat…or we would have been, if I could have thought of anything I won’t eat.  Now granted, we were talking about normal everyday foods.  We weren’t talking about the kinds of  things they feed you on Survivor, like live Madagascar hissing roaches.  I will say that I have eaten chocolate-covered ants (they taste like chocolate).  Normally I’ll try anything once, but as I recall, I once passed on fried grasshoppers.  

Now, thanks to today’s New York Times, I’ve just discovered something else I’ll never try.  Now, all these years I’ve thought they were kidding about this particular food item.  Silly me.  Behold the following picture from the NYT:

18oyster_600

What you’re seeing here is a judge, in the yellow jacket, gazing at a tray of the signature item at the International Comstock Mountain Oyster Fry in Virginia City, Nevada.  Mountain oysters are the testicles of castrated calves and lambs.  All I can say is, I read this article at about 6:30 this morning, and it’s a good thing I don’t eat breakfast.  For more than you ever wanted to know, here’s the full article:  http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/18/us/18oyster.html?_r=2&hp

It must have been weird food day for the Times, because another article talked about the growing popularity of Whoopie Pies.  Now, I don’t know about you, but when I think “whoopie”, the next word that comes to mind is “cushion”.  It certainly isn’t “pie”.  I don’t think I’m in any danger of trying them either, because from now on, they will always be linked in my mind to Mountain oysters. 

I think I’ll go have something normal for dinner, like an eel.

7 responses to “No Thanks, I’ll Just Starve

  1. I’ll never eat the Philippine delicacy, featured in Fear Factor, known as “balut”… a developed duck embryo with feet, etc. that is boiled and eaten complete with embryonic fluid.

    Check it out:

  2. Omg, Anarchist, I have totally been outgrossed. Unless you count this quote from the NY Times article: The tradition in Nevada is strongly associated with the Basque sheepherders who came to Nevada in significant numbers in the late 19th century. The yellowed pages of many a family cookbook include recipes for “bildoch pesta,” lamb fest or lamb party, with the ingredients — much to the consternation of outsiders — sometimes obtained with the teeth.

  3. fakename, i truly think that you went out in search of something gross today. Anarchist, that is just plain nasty…

  4. Guys……..guys………yuck……..Publix has T Bone for $5.99lb this week………lets enjoy food……..this shit is gross.

  5. Apparently Anarchist and I are not above a little schoolyard humor 🙂 And seriously ee, it was not my plan. Honestly, I couldn’t help but read this article, it was on the front page of the NY Times online. What was I to do?

  6. Are these fresh or frozen?

  7. That is an excellent question, Rocky. One I’m not sure I want to know the answer to.

Leave a Reply

