Fakename’s Animal Planet: Aquatic Version

By popular request, Fakename is temporarily setting aside her obsession with politics and returning to the fond subject of animals.  In this case, we will take a look at the seahorse. 

Check out my eyelashes

In Panacea, Florida…wait.  Before I can go on, I always have to smile at the name of that town.  It’s my favorite, beating the previous favorite of Duck Hill, Mississippi.  Anyhow, in Panacea, there is something called the Gulf Specimen Marine Laboratory.  Which is a little disappointing if you were expecting something like the Georgia Aquarium.  Or for that matter, any usual aquarium.  It’s a little sad, actually.  But they are desperately trying to do good work with very little money.  Their website is a lot snazzier than the reality. 

But it’s here that Fakesister and I saw, in September, yellow seahorses.  Who knew?  I thought they were always brown. 

Seahorses are pretty fascinating creatures.  They are a fish.  They swim upright (and therefore, not very well).  As in the picture above, sometimes they anchor themselves using their prehensile tails.  Probably just tired of being whisked about by the currents, which their feeble fins are no match for.  The males incubate the young in a pouch.  Very prehistoric of them. 

The photo and much of the information I report is from the National Geographic posting about them, which you can see here.  What shocked me was the last sentence.  They’re used in Asian traditional medicine.  In fact, they are very prevalent.  What?  Rhino horn, bear bile, and tiger penises aren’t enough?

6 responses to “Fakename’s Animal Planet: Aquatic Version

  1. Those zany Asians…..

    At least sea horses aren’t endangered – like rhinos, tigers and some bears.

    Last week my wife decided to try some Chinese herbal tea, allegedly good for blood pressure. The only effect we have noticed is that it gave her the runs at night – which wasn’t particularly good for her blood pressure.

    I wouldn’t say that these beautiful creatures have NO medicinal value when ground up into powder. I just have a hard time believing it. And you gotta believe if you’re going to get well, don’t you?

  2. Actually, I thought sea horses were green. And there they were at the Gulf Specimen Marine Laboratory in all sorts of neon brights! Wow!

    They are really cool little fish.

  3. masteroftheuniverse

    I find that when sea horses are marinated in an herb sauce for a couple of hours, then sauteed with garlic, pearl onions, shallots, and baby carrots, then deglazed with a fine red wine, the wine then allowed to reduce,makes a most excellent dish. it goes exceptionally well as a great appetizer for BBQ manatee, stuffed bald eagle or Roasted Florida Panther. The only thing I have problems with this meal is the proper paring of wines. Mad dog 2020 has too much of a bite, Richard’s Wild Irish Rose has too much sweetness and Ripple just doesn;t make the cut. Any suggestions?

  4. > used in Asian traditional medicine

    I thought everyone knew that…..Perhaps I’m more worldly due to my travels. And having lived in Asia…

    Plus, I’ve seen dried seahorses in both San Francisco and NYC Chinatowns. So even “stay in the USA” types should have seen them if they visited those Chinatowns.

    As for Florida city names, I like Sopchoppy and Wewahitchka.

  5. Spencercourt, you are indeed more worldly than I. I’ve never been to a “Chinatown”, possibly because I’ve never been to San Fran or NYC either. When you think about it, a seahorse is a fish, so what is so different about consuming them as opposed to say, a grouper? Well, I don’t know. It just is 🙂
    Fakename grins at Jeff’s recipe 🙂 Nice to see you back in your Master of the Universe persona. I read Rocky’s blog which said the evil hackers were at it again…I know that is getting very old.
    GC (and Spencercourt too), I have often wondered why these remedies are so prevalent in Asian medicine. At first I thought it was the cost of modern medicines, but then, from what I hear, tiger penis is not cheap. So then I thought it was lack of access to modern medicines. Maybe it’s more like, this is how my ancestors did it…But if these types of things are equally effective, next time I get a headache I’ll just chew on tree bark.

  6. One chilly fall evening my wife and I went to watch the sunset at Keaton Beach, it was particularly and splendidly crimson as it set. Warmed by a glass or 2 of Cabernet we were enjoying the moment. A man approached us with his hands before him. Without speaking he opened them up to reveal a seahorse. We held it for a few moments before he returned it to the Gulf. He was a mullet fisherman who had caught the seahorse with the nets. He drove about 20 miles to bring it back. It made a perfect evening even better.

Leave a Reply

