Mothra Visits Fakename

Don't worry, I am your friend

Just in case you thought there was nothing else going on in my life. 

Last night a creature flew into the room that I couldn’t identify, except it was gigantic.  Once I got over the shock, I thought it might be a bat.  Then I decided it was too big to be a bat, plus, its wings were flapping too slowly.  Its wings were flapping very fast, but not fast enough to be a bat.  Bat wings flap so fast they’re almost invisible. 

Then I thought, bird.  But no, its wings were flapping too fast to be a bird.  I finally realized it was a moth, but the largest moth I’ve ever seen in my life.  It may have been a Cecropia moth, which is the largest moth in North America and has a wingspan of 5-7 inches. 

In a perfect world, it would have been a bat.  Bats have sonar. 

Technically speaking, there is nothing to fear from a moth.  It can’t bite you or sting you.  But what it can do is fly around hysterically and run into you without regard to your personal space.  They have no senses to speak of. 

Finally, with the help of a glass of wine (a Valium would have been nice) and a broom, I was able to persuade it to fly off into the night from whence it came.  Whew! 

Then this morning, when I woke up before full daylight, she came back.  And as God is my witness (as Scarlett O’Hara would say), I swear this moth was following me.  No matter what room I escaped to, there she would be. 

Finally after about an hour, silence descended.  She had exhausted herself for sure batting against the walls, and her behavior was a bit abnormal anyway, I think, so it could have been that she was dying anyway.  It also could be that the cat got her. 

But that’s how it goes here in Wild Kingdom.  Like they say in The Lion King, it’s the circle of life.  It’s dog-eat-dog, and cat-eat-moth.  What can you do?

7 responses to “Mothra Visits Fakename

  1. Speaking of cats vs. wildlife, we thought we’d taught the local feral cat that our bird feeders/bird bath were not her hunting territory. But the lesson has worn off apparently. On the other hand, merely opening the window sent her off like the Furies were on her tail.

    It’s true I’m supplying an “attractive nuisance” but I’d still like the birds to survive the experience. The local hawk picks a tweety-bird off every now and then and for the same reason the cat likes this spot – there are a lot of distracted birds around.

    The hummingbirds will share their feeder with the weensy little wasps but not with the big hornets. So we use a pellet pistol on the hornets so the hummers can eat in peace.

  2. Now THAT is something I’d like to see–hitting a hornet with a pellet. I mean, they aren’t that big! Plus, hornets are on my “should be extinct” list. Mothra, by the way, was bigger than a hummingbird.

  3. Remember that my hummingbird feeder is attached to the window … At point-blank range, even teeny things aren’t that hard to hit. Ray wants to try just the blast of air, no pellet, but the hornets all object to the muzzle getting that close.

  4. Yes, I can see how that would add a new depth of meaning to the phrase “mad as a hornet”. And few things are less pleasant than mad hornets.

  5. Having done a little more research, I find that Mothra was about twice the size of a hummingbird.

  6. Here’s what happens when a reporter meets Mothra

Leave a Reply

