Are You Cold?

Because I am.  I’m almost always cold.  It takes until the last days of July or August for me to actually get “too hot”.  Usually I realize it’s “too hot” when I’m walking across the parking lot at the grocery store and the soles of my shoes are melting.

People think it’s because I’m short and thin, in other words, I have no “padding”.  That is utterly ridiculous.  Like heavier people don’t get cold?

But the older I get, the worse it gets.  I’ve recently decided to become more sensitive to the temperature needs of others.  In my office, which is more a less a cubicle farm–or would be if we hadn’t taken down the partitions–the temperature is up to me.  But I notice that I can wear a coat all day, while everyone else in the office is in short sleeves.  So when it’s warm enough for me to take the coat off, everyone else is suffering already.  Which seems just a tad unfair.  So I’ve been making a real effort to go with the majority (and wear the coat all day, if necessary).  Sometimes, like with most resolutions, I fail.  I will get so miserable I will crank the heat all the way up to…75 degrees.   Oh, the horror.

Really, there are, I think, two things going on here, both of which are physiological things.  Being tiny has nothing to do with it, and I can barely type the word “tiny”.  In my mind, I’m The Hulk.

Thing #1.  I don’t sweat.  Sweating must be a thing that lets you know you are too hot.  It also cools you down, from what I understand.  I have been so hot before, without knowing it, that I’ve fainted.  I recover well with Gatorade.

Thing #2. I have a pituitary deficiency, which I thought was confined to a very specific issue, but maybe not.  Many years ago when an endocrinologist was trying to pinpoint the problem, he asked me a series of questions.  One of them was “Do you get colder or hotter than other people?”  I said, I don’t know how to answer that question.  I don’t know how cold or hot other people get.  He thought I was just trying to be cute.  He said, okay, let me put it this way.  When other people are perfectly comfortable, do you want to open a window?  Or close it?

Today I would have an answer to that question.  When other people are perfectly comfortable, I want to close the damn window and turn on the heat.

All things considered, it seems like a pretty minor “affliction”, if you want to call it that.  But an affliction which affects your social relationships becomes more important to me.  By the way, could we turn up the heat in here?

Leave a Reply

