Blogging and Reading In General

I’m sparing you a book review of the latest book I completed (although it was, by the way, “Helen Keller In Love”.  A fictionalized account of a real episode in her life which didn’t work out.)

Let’s start with blogging.  I do it because it’s fun and for no other reason.  Good thing, since I’m not expecting my invitation to join the Huffington Post anytime soon.  But there are fascinating aspects.

For instance, WordPress allows you to go to your “dashboard”, which gives you a kind of snapshot of how many people viewed your blog, which one it was, and, most fascinating to me, where they’re from.  It’s not personal info, so there is no privacy issue, it’s just stats.

So for example, today, I’ve only had 18 views, but the countries they come from are, in order, the U.S., the Netherlands, Canada, Spain, and Germany.  Yesterday it was, in order, the U.S., United Arab Emirates, Germany, and Nigeria.  Pause for double-take.  The UAE?  Where the heck did that come from?  And that’s not the first time.  Ditto Nigeria–but that isn’t the first time either.

So here’s my question:  Why? 🙂  And also, who are these people?  Some of them might be spammers.  No offense, but I’m a little leery of Nigeria.  Some of them probably did a search and found my blog on Google (which you can block if you wish).  Some of them are friends who never comment.  So I really can’t tell you who these people are.  It’s as much of a mystery to me as it is to you, about why you would want to read my blog unless you just like me and do it out of loyalty.

Reading.  I get my recommendations for books I should read from many sources.  Recommendations from friends.  The Book Page (a free publication you can get at the library).   Chiefly, from NPR which often has interviews with authors, and more recently from Amazon.com.  Amazon does a quite amazing (I guess that’s a pun) job.  They send me an email every day, which normally would be supremely annoying.  But they are so good at it that I usually at least look.

But sometimes I go through a sort of wandering through the desert period, when all the recommendations I get leave me feeling lukewarm.  When that happens, I cruise the library.  The old standard.  And it never fails me.  I love the library.

Speaking of libraries, before Helen Keller In Love (a cruising the library selection), I finished “Dewey:  The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched The World”, recommended by Fakecousin.  It was sweet, and didn’t hurt that it took place in Iowa so I could relate.

At present, I’m reading “Run With The Horsemen”, although I just started, and I adore it.  Not far enough into it to recommend it, but it already doesn’t have to convince me. It’s full of “Southern-isms”, which is almost like a second language.  You kind of have to be from around here to grasp it fully.

In the first few pages, the little boy describes an incident with his grandfather’s favorite mule, “Pet”.  Very descriptive name.  Mules really, really, fit their reputations of being stubborn.  And Pet, having been spoiled rotten, was worse than most.  She was a master manipulator.  Don’t try to get her to work the cotton fields.  One of the characters says, Pet has a certain number of steps she plans to take each day, and she counts carefully to make sure she doesn’t take an extra one.  They would have sold her, except for Grandfather “would have been to bury”.  I laughed out loud at that.  I was hooked from then on.

The writer is Ferrol Sams, who has been compared to Mark Twain, rightfully so I’d say.

 

 

 

3 responses to “Blogging and Reading In General

  1. What I find even more interesting than the stats on the countries is the google search terms that have led people to my blog – I’m always fascinated by some of the things people search for, and sometimes I just can’t figure out how one of my posts came up on those searches!

  2. So true 🙂 I once did a post about a little animal called the nutria, and you would think I was Nutria Woman. I also did a post about snakes from a TV show I saw, and got 352 views in one day. It was crazy. I eventually deleted that post altogether. I’m not Snake Woman either. It was a TV show!
    Sigh…here you are out here in the real world…you pays your money and you takes your chances 🙂 The search items are quite strange, and that either you or I show up on one is also strange.

  3. I’ll see your UAE and raise you a Northern Mariana Islands. (No, I hadn’t heard of them either.) Like both you and Vanessa, I’m constantly bemused by some of the locations of readers and the search terms used to find my blog(s). It just goes to show what a wonderful and random place the blogosphere truly is!

Leave a Reply

