Why Did I Come In This Room?

If even one person says “That’s never happened to me”, I swear I will hunt you down and hide your car key(s).  Notice that late model cars only have one key that does everything.  You used to have one ignition key and another to open the doors and the trunk. Perhaps I will only hide one of your keys.

The occasion is that this morning, I moved from the computer room to the living room because I was looking for…what was it I was looking for?  I was standing in front of the couch, and suddenly my brain went blank.  I had all the memory of an embryo.  If I needed two neurons to fire at the same time to come up with a thought, apparently one of them was asleep.  I stared at the couch, the coffee table, the armchair, the lamp.  I’m convinced they knew what I was looking for, but just weren’t saying.  Furniture is so cruel.

Suddenly that sleepy neuron woke up.  Oh yeah, it’s the Bluetooth.  I needed to charge it.

Another popular destination for “Why am I here?” is the refrigerator.  I once found my cellphone in the refrigerator, and the milk on the dining room table.

And then there is losing things.  In the last month I lost a makeup bag with $200 in it.  (I had cleverly concealed it in a non-wallet.)  I lost my car key (I’m using the spare).

I’d say that the most popular things to lose are eyeglasses (including sunglasses), cell phones, car keys,  and (drumroll) computer files.

But when you walk into a room where the furniture isn’t speaking to you and you can’t remember what you’re looking for, that’s a different story.

7 responses to “Why Did I Come In This Room?

  1. I have the T-shirt! Really! It says, in white type on a royal blue background, “I know I came in this room for a reason …”

  2. “I’d say that the most popular things to lose are eyeglasses (including sunglasses), cell phones, car keys, and (drumroll) computer files.”

    Guilty, although surprisingly it’s not as bad since I retired.

    I did find one thing that helped me with the above items (except for files)

    http://www.charging-station.cn/charging_valet.htm

    This exact charging valet has become a life saver for me. I can charge all portable gadgets there, keep my glasses, wallet, keys and accessories all in this one spot. I NEVER put them anywhere else in the house so I always know where they are. It was a great gift from the in laws, hint hint Fake Sister.

  3. Ha pt! I always charge my cell phone and Bluetooth in the same place, hang my keys on a hook by the door, and keep my wallet in my purse (I realize you don’t have the benefit of a purse). So since I always do that, it’s a mystery how any of these items ever come up missing. Clearly “always” is a relative term in my case.
    Great T-shirt, Fakesister!

  4. > You used to have one ignition key and another to open the doors
    > and the trunk.

    You’re torturing my memory here because I believe I only had one key for my Datsun. Maybe it was U.S> cars that had two types of keys.

    As for WP notifications, check your settings. If they look OK, check with WP.

  5. Update: Whee! I just found the non-wallet makeup bag in which I had cleverly concealed the $200 (which was actually $185).

  6. “Update: Whee! I just found the non-wallet makeup bag in which I had cleverly concealed the $200 (which was actually $185).”

    $15=The Found Income Tax:)

Leave a Reply

